The Churchill Awards 2017

Honouring the hard work and dedication of the over 65s

Now in their sixth year, and quickly becoming established as a real highlight in the calendar, The Churchill Awards in association with the Telegraph have become a means of recognising and demonstrating the significant role that over 65s play in British society.  

Spencer McCarthy, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Churchill Retirement Living, and the driving force behind the awards, explains more:

“It is not just our most loved actors and actresses that remain at the peak of their powers well into their seventies and beyond. Increasingly the over 65s play an important role in all realms of society, be it politics, art, or championing the environment. These people are continuing at the forefront of excellence in their field and we’re delighted to be honouring and recognising what they’ve achieved."

Last year's winners included Dame Barbara Windsor DBE (charity), Dame Jacqueline Wilson DBE (literature), Julian Lloyd Webber (music), Angela Rippon (TV), Barry Cryer (radio) and Baroness Sally Greengross (politics). 

Previous winners include

  • Arsène Wenger OBE (Sport)
  • Margaret Miles-Bramwell OBE (Business)
  • Len Goodman (TV & Radio)
  • The late Sir Roger Moore (Stage & Screen)
  • The late Lynda Bellingham OBE (Contribution to charity)

Last year, two special ‘Local Hero’ awards were voted for by the public, which went to Jack Poole from Gosport and Janet Dacombe from Southampton for their work in the community.

Rona Norman also won the Churchill Owner award for her contribution towards life at King Harold Lodge in Waltham Abbey. 

Dame Esther Rantzen DBE, Churchill Ambassador, said:

"The remarkable individuals receiving these awards are all leaders in their field, and during 2016 they made a huge contribution towards the health, happiness and welfare of millions of people across the UK. The continued achievements of the over 65s should not come as a surprise; they are rarely celebrated in this way. So the Churchill Awards are a great opportunity to showcase these wonderful role models."

The 2017 Churchill Awards will be judged later this year, with winners being announced next spring.

Enjoyed this article?

Share it with your friends and family through your preferred social media channel.