Churchill Awards honour achievements of over 65s

Dame Esther Rantzen DBE led a star-studded celebration at the Churchill Awards 2016, to honour the continuing achievements of the over 65s across all aspects of society. This year’s winners included Dame Barbara Windsor DBE (charity), Dame Jacqueline Wilson DBE (literature), Julian Lloyd Webber (music), Angela Rippon (TV), Barry Cryer (radio) and Baroness Sally Greengross (politics).

Now in their 5th year, The Churchill Awards have quickly become established as the UK’s premier event to recognise and highlight the significant role that over 65s play in all walks of British life. The winners were announced at an exclusive lunchtime ceremony at the Mandarin Oriental, London on Tuesday 14th March 2017.

It wasn’t just celebrities and famous figures who were recognised. Two special ‘Local Hero’ awards were voted for by the public, which this year went to Jack Poole from Gosport and Janet Dacombe from Southampton for their work in the community.  Rona Norman also won the Churchill Owner award for her contribution towards life at King Harold Lodge in Waltham Abbey.

Dame Esther Rantzen DBE, Churchill Ambassador, said:

“The remarkable individuals receiving these awards are all leaders in their field, and during 2016 they made a huge contribution towards the health, happiness and welfare of millions of people across the UK. The continued achievements of the over 65s should not come as a surprise; they are rarely celebrated in this way. So the Churchill Awards are a great opportunity to showcase these wonderful role models.”

Spencer McCarthy, Chairman and CEO of Churchill Retirement Living, and the driving force behind the awards, adds:

“It is not just our most loved actors and actresses that remain at the peak of their powers well into their seventies and beyond. Increasingly the over 65s play an important role in all realms of society, be it politics, art, or championing the environment. These people are continuing at the forefront of excellence in their field and we’re delighted to be honouring and recognising what they’ve achieved over the past year.”

Full list of winners:

  • Angela Rippon CBE – Television
  • Dame Barbara Windsor DBE – Contribution to Charity
  • Barry Cryer OBE – Radio
  • Sir Fraser Stoddart FRS FRSE FRSC – Science & Environment
  • Jack Poole – Local Hero
  • Dame Jacqueline Wilson DBE – Literature
  • Janet Dacombe – Local Hero
  • John Starbrook – Contribution to Charity
  • Julian Lloyd Webber – Music
  • June Whitfield CBE – Stage & Screen
  • Paul Anderson OBE – Sport
  • Dame Paula Rego DBE – Art
  • Petula Clark CBE – Music
  • Roger Leeder – Military
  • Rona Norman – Churchill Owner
  • Baroness Sally Greengross OBE – Politics
  • Tony Pidgley CBE – Business